Zigong

Today we are in Zigong, an old salt mining town, but we didn’t go and see the salt museum. The kids weren’t interested. I can’t say I blame them. I would have liked to see it, but I’m not sure they would have appreciated a special stop to see a 20 cm diameter hole, even if it is above a 3,000 foot artesian salt well. Alas.

Zigong is also known for being the site of one of the largest dinosaur finds in the world. The kids enjoyed this stop. 

  

 They have a great collection of complete dinosaur skeletons, but I thought the best part was the room over the original discovery where you could see tons of fossils still in situ. 

  

Quite an amazing museum in the middle of nowhere with almost no visitors. There were also creatures roaming outside, 

 but we don’t think they are as scientifically interesting. 

On the way back to the local bus, we came across a row of people selling yazi, a large grapefruit-like fruit with a tough skin and inedible fibrous dividers inside. 

So, we bought one. I am still trying to finish eating it!

Leave a comment